Classroom Empowerment Grants

It’s that time of the year again, and Egyptian Electric Cooperative is again offering our Touchstone Energy Classroom Empowerment Grants to our local schools within our territory! We are aware that adequate funding for many school systems has been a challenge. Commitment to Community is one of our Touchstone Energy core principles, and we are committed to the communities we serve and want to continue to provide assistance to them.  Eight $500 Classroom Empowerment Grants will be offered and awarded to public and private K-12 schools to help them with projects that will improve educational opportunities for students. Visit the Classroom Empowerment Grant webpage to learn more, and how easy it is to apply! Applications will be accepted until 4 p.m. November 3, 2017, and the grant awards will be announced by December 15, 2017. Download from our website, receive from one of our offices or the coming October Illinois Country Living magazine for the application and information. For questions regarding the Classroom Empowerment Grants, please contact Brooke Guthman at (800) 606-1505 or 

Carruthers Classroom Grant Winners 2016

Classroom Empowerment Grants

Congratulations to our TEN $500 Classroom Grant Winners that were awarded to teachers from across our region! Thank you to all the schools who participated and encouraged application, as well to those who made application going the extra mile for all our students! You continue to make this program a success, and the programs within your school more valuable!

There were TEN $500 Classroom Empowerment Grants that were awarded to teachers/school administrators for the 2022/2023 school year. This includes public and private K-12 schools to support classroom projects that will improve educational opportunities for students. Winning applications were based on projects that best serve the purpose of improving the learning environment and/or increasing educational resources for the students. Applicants and schools are eligible to apply every year, even if the applicant has been a previous recipient. Please note, that the school or district does NOT have to receive electric service from Egyptian Electric Cooperative to qualify. Winners are:

  1. Kayli Pierson – Parrish Elementary School, Carbondale – HearBuilder for Speech Language Students
  2. Angela Lysakowski – Sparta Lincoln School – Living Museum
  3. Sophia Durbin – Chester High School – 3D Printing Fun
  4. April Bartnick – Murphysboro Middle School – Community Outreach & Pollinator Habitat Restoration
  5. Jason Geis – Murphysboro High School – Light Up Scholar Bowl!
  6. Melissa Giblin – Tri-C Elementary, Carterville – Spanish & Bilingual Books for All
  7. Sarah Hammel – Chester High School – Importance of Procuring a Diverse Library
  8. Sarah McKinnies – DuQuoin High School, Carbondale – Help us Warm our Greenhouse
  9. Carla Vaca Diez & Anne Kaszubski – Parrish Elementary School, Carbondale – Magnetic STEM & Language Manipulatives
  10. Melanie Spears – Unity Point School, Carbondale – Reducing Impacts of Natural Earth Processes on Humans

2023 Classroom Grant Winners

The Grant Application Form should be completed, AND a double-spaced typewritten request (not to exceed 3 pages) that includes the following. Photos and supporting data are optional, but strongly encouraged:

  • A description of the project, what the project will accomplish, and why it should be selected for funding.
  • The estimated cost of the project based on researched & provided data.
  • An explanation of why funds are necessary for the completion of the project.
  • If other funding options have been pursued, the status of those requests.
  • When the project will be completed.
  • The number of students impacted by the project.
  • How the goals of the project will be measured, and what would determine if the project is a success.
  • How the project ties to our Touchstone Energy core values: integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.